Browns Consider Bringing Back Brian Sipe

Sipe     Obviously, that's a joke.  But it's not far off considering the fact that they are considering Vinny Testaverde for the backup job.  I for one feel this isn't a bad move.  Bringing in Vinny near the end of camp would be good because it would give Charlie the veteran presence that he needs, and he's probably better than what we have going right now with Dorsey and Anderson.  Plus, Vinny is the last QB to win a playoff game for the Browns.  Who cares if that was 12 years ago, and he was a seasoned veteran then.

    There's really no downside to this, as if Charlie should falter or go down at any point during the season the Browns would be hurt significantly.  That's why so much depends on his success this season.  I'm still not convince we should have mortgaged our future on this guy by having nobody behind him, but if he is the real deal this team could turn heads this year.

     On a side note, it's hard to believe, but Vinny is actually OLDER than a favorite son of ours–one BERNIE KOSAR.  I think you know where I'm going with this…

3 Responses to Browns Consider Bringing Back Brian Sipe

  1. I was at that playoff game against the Patriots. As I recall, it was on New Year’s Day, and everybody had Monday off, so much post-game celebrating was involved.

    Who knew it would be the last home playoff game for 12 years and counting?

  2. Cheryl says:

    My favorite player in the 70’s and still today! Brian Sipe, I was a young girl and I was in love with him. But I was a Cleveland Browns football fan FIRST. He was just icing on the cake.

    Bernie Kosar – everyone loved Bernie – well except Belichek huh? That’s ok, he got a Super Bowl ring to spit in his face at that time. I know butthead Belicheck has been there but that was sweet justice for Bernie.

    I miss the old days and the players! Boys today are just a bunch of WIMPS!

    Vinnie give it up babe!

  3. BuckeyeDan says:

    I rather doubt that Sipe would be particularly interested in returning to the Browns sidelines.

    Last I heard, he was perfectly happy being the Head Coach of a christian HS football team in California.

Leave a Reply

