Does it get any Better?

     Browns.gifCavsTribe

A quick word to the editor of GodHatesClevelandSports:  You will not like this post, it's way to positive.      

     With that out of the way, this could possibly be the best Cleveland sports weekend in a while.  The Tribe are home for a three game series after taking two of three from the Red Sox, the Cavs are in the playoffs and have two games this weekend (which is enough said already), and the NFL draft AKA 'my Christmas in April' is upon us.  I have had this weekend marked on my calendar for a long time, and with the addition of the Cavs playoffs it just makes the next 2 days a holiday from life for me. Let's break this thing down day by day shall we?

Friday:  Rangers at Tribe, and I'll be there sitting in the bleachers.  Not bad, I don't get too fired up for April baseball, but the weather should be nice and the Beer is always flowing.  I may have my first taste of the Stadium Mustard for the weekend as well–which is just a little added bonus.  Not a bad start, but it's time to turn it up a notch.     AT THE SAME TIME, we have LeCavs taking on the Whiz in game three.  Lucky for me I can watch both games since I will have Terrace Club access.  With my continuing Man-Crush on Lebron, I think I may actually watch this game more despite actually being at the tribe game.  Gotta take it easy though, tomorrow is a big day.  

Saturday (aka 'contribute nothing to society day'):  Don't ask me why I look forward to the NFL Draft every year so much.  I can't answer that.  Maybe because it's historically the last day of the year in which we can look optimistically upon our beloved football team.  Yes, it seems like  yesterday I was basking in the afterglow and saying things like "Courtney Brown will turn this D around", or "Gerrard Warren will give this team the jump-start it needs", or my personal favorite "Kellen Winslow will be the best thing that ever happened to Butch Davis."  Yes, somehow I can always walk away from this day feeling great about the upcoming football season at hand.  And that's about is good as it gets lately.     

     Anyway, besides the actual draft which is basically one suspense thriller every 15 minutes, it is also the official opening day for the Burning River Grill, which will be responsible for adding about 10 pounds of beef to my Burning River Gut.  Then we break out the greatest outdoor game known to man, followed up by several hours of football toss, all centered around the Burning River Draft Day Drinking Game.  Usually i'm pass out by 5pm, and am completely useless until Tuesday.  Again, not sure why I love this day so much.

Sunday:   This day is great because you have a recovery day to examine your teams day one draft, and because there's still more to come!  I love day 2 of the draft because this is when Mel Kiper is at his best.  Nothing like hearing him breakdown the 'hip-flex' of a 6th round Guard out of Ball State.  Also, having went to Toledo, this is the day I get to see all of our guys drafted, nice little touch.  However, since this is a Super-Weekend, we get to conclude it with Game 4 of the LeBronaliers-Whiz series.  Hopefully Lebron pulls another superman act like he did in Game 1, and I can rename this site "LeBurning River."  Actually, that sounds pretty good.

     Having said all of this, and knowing that this is Cleveland, and according to some God hates us, this could all go horribly wrong.  It COULD turn out to be one of the worst weekends ever–but I'll let some other blog point out all the possibilities, I'm sure he'll be all over it.   I'd rather not think about it quite yet.

The result of all this mayhem?  I get to be completely useless at work on Monday.  Oh yeah, and don't expect an update for a while.

Stay Classy Cleveland!

3 Responses to Does it get any Better?

  1. Hornless Rhino says:

    I predict that this is the year Mortenson snaps and sets Kiper’s hair on fire.

  2. Mike says:

    Oh, Jimbo, you knew I’d find a way!

  3. Mike says:

    Oh, Jimbo, you knew I’d find a way! P.S. Don’t forget, tonite’s Grady bobblehead night!

Leave a Reply

