What Does it all Mean?

fumble.jpgA few people have asked me to explain my "Burning River" metaphor, and how it pertains to sports in Cleveland.  Basically sports in Cleveland typically bring the same attention to the city that a river on fire would: humiliation, embarrasment, ridicule, and an inferiority complex.  Not to mention the heartbreak of all the close calls.  The metaphor then follows that anything that brings this type of attention to the City is a "Burning River Moment."  The Drive, The Fumble, The Shot, all burning river moments.  However, it also kind of describes the continual state of affairs in Cleveland sports (i.e. a complete mess, in turmoil, etc…).

    However, nothing may better describe what I am trying to get at then the phrase (and the blog) GodHatesClevelandSports.  Pretty much sums it up without waxing metaphorically like me.  I came across this site today and couldn't have said it better myself.  We'll go ahead and add this to my rapidly growing list of blogs about our City.  I guess, when hell freezes over and we finally win a championship, we'll all just shut our sites down?  I don't know how that works.

In addition, has anybody noticed the sudden positive feel with all of the Cleveland teams (as pointed out by GodHates)?  Kind of weird, and ominous don't you think?  I'm just going to go ahead and brace myself for the worst–especially with the playoffs coming up for the Cavs, and the Indians at the top of the Power Rankings.  Hopefully we won't have another BRM to add to the list anytime soon…

Leave a Reply

